Blueberry buckwheat pancakes: a detox compromise

Blueberry buckwheat pancakes

I’ve been doing a detox of sorts. By ‘of sorts’, I mean it’s been a pretty relaxed detox. I haven’t been too committed to it, nor have I been prepared to give up tasty food. In all honesty, it’s not really a detox, so my housemate and I have renamed it ‘being more conscious about what you’re eating’. That’s not a cop out though, it’s just… being realistic. The detox so far has included alcohol, wheat, dairy, red meat and coffee. Oops. But the theory is that this kind of detox is more sustainable. That’s how I justify it anyway.

These pancakes reflect my attitude towards detoxing. They’re buckwheat (good), but I included sugar and wheat flour with them and served them with maple syrup and coffee (bad? whatever). At least I drew the line at having them with butter. And if it weren’t for these additions, I probably wouldn’t have eaten them. So surely that makes it ok? I did try without the wheat flour, but they were a bit sandy and I had to have them with Nutella so I could cope.

My camera has had a meltdown, so this photo from my phone is the best one I have. They looked like regular pancakes, only grey-ish brown. Appetising, no? This is how Saturday mornings look anyway – half finished breakfast, couch and TV remote (for flicking between the music video shows).

Blueberry buckwheat pancakes
This made six large-ish pancakes, which was enough for two people

3/4 cup buckwheat flour
1/4 cup plain flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 cup sugar
1 egg, lightly beaten
2 tbs olive oil
1 cup soy milk (or 1/2 cup soy milk and 1/2  cup water)
1 cup blueberries (frozen or fresh)
maple syrup, to serve

Combine flour, baking powder and sugar in a bowl. Whisk to remove any lumps.

Add egg, oil and soy milk and whisk together. The mixture should be runny, like ordinary pancake batter. Add blueberries and stir to combine.

Spray a saucepan with canola oil and place on medium heat.

Cook just like regular pancakes – ladle a scoop of the batter into the centre of the pan and cook until bubbles appear and then turn.

Serve with maple syrup.

2 responses to “Blueberry buckwheat pancakes: a detox compromise

Leave a Reply

