Tiny pineapple with coconut pikelets

Tiny pineapple

My dad gave me this tiny pineapple for my birthday. It’s from the pineapple plant I gave him a while ago. Look how small it is – you could fit it in your pocket!

No, really, look how small it is:

Tiny pineapple with strawberry

It’s the same size as a strawberry! Hi-larious.

Dad suggested I put it on the blog, so here it is. I figured I should actually do something with it, other than put it next to a strawberry and giggle to myself. So, what does one do with a tiny pineapple? There aren’t too many options. I decided something pina colada adjacent would be good. And something quick. To my mind, the coconut pikelets were a stroke of genius. I’m sure I’m not the first person to have the idea, but I was particularly proud because they came out pretty well and I just used ingredients I had in the pantry. It always feels like an achievement when I make something that tastes good and I don’t have to leave the house for ingredients. (I’d like to say this is where the inspiration for the name Paddington pantry came from, but, sadly, I’m not that clever.)

Coconut pikelets
Serves 2

1 cup plain flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 cup shredded coconut
2 tbs caster sugar
1/2 cup coconut milk
1 egg
25 g unsalted butter, melted

Caramelised pineapple
One tiny pineapple, skin cut off, halved
25 g unsalted butter
2 tsp brown sugar

Mix the dry ingredients together with a whisk. Add the coconut milk, egg and the butter and whisk until combined. If it’s a little bit thick, add more coconut milk, or add a bit of water.

Heat a non-stick frying pan over medium high heat. I usually spray it with a little bit of oil too, mostly because I don’t trust non-stick pans to actually be non-stick.

Cook pikelet-sized spoonfuls of batter for a couple of minutes on each side until golden brown.

Meanwhile, for the caramelised pineapple, heat butter and brown sugar over a medium heat. When the butter has melted, add the pineapple and cook on both sides until brown.

We had the pikelets with yoghurt, mint leaves and strawberry jam. I did the food styling (I use the term loosely) for this one:

Tiny pineapple and coconut pikelet - my styling 

While my boyfriend did this:

Tiny pineapple and coconut pikelet - Mr Gaunt's styling

I will hereby be handing over the food styling and photography for this blog to him. In my defence, his looks better because he used my homemade strawberry jam…

4 responses to “Tiny pineapple with coconut pikelets

Leave a Reply

